#atozchallenge – Buddha Inspires Me

purple-large-letter-character-B-icon-256-x-256.jpg

Gautama Buddha, Buddha1or Siddhārtha Gautama, is known as the Supreme Buddha. Buddha means “awakened one” or “the enlightened one.” Siddhārtha’s teachings are called “The Middle Way” or “The Middle Path” and are the basis behind the Eastern Philosophy of Buddhism.

The reason the Buddha inspires me is because he has given me the means to control my attitude toward life. I no longer look to the past and witness my harmful life, and I no longer long for the future. Both of these left me unsatisfied, disenchanted, and often quite depressed. It wasn’t until I began following the teachings of the Buddha that I learned to live in the here and now. To be present in every moment. To be mindful of my daily activities. To become emptiness in order to live a full life. I no longer desire possessions, feel entitled, or have the need to be better than anyone else. I simply AM. The me I was destined to be. Wholly and spiritually aware.

Interesting fact: Siddhārtha Gautama was said to be a Prince, was married and had one child. He gave up his stately life after encountering a diseased man, a decaying corpse, and an ascetic. After which, he went on to become an ascetic himself and eventually the enlightened one.


 

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]
Thank you for joining me for the A-to-Z Challenge. If you’d like to see who else is participating, check them out here.
Each day, I will be posting about People Who Inspire Me.
19 thoughts on “#atozchallenge – Buddha Inspires Me

  1. Hello Lori,
    I enjoyed this post for its simplicity and clarity. I’m not a Buddhist, but I wear a little figure of the Buddha beneath my clothing to remind me to relax, slow down, enjoy life and take things as they come. I look forward to learning more from your blog.
    @RhondaGilmour from
    Late Blooming Rose

  2. Thanks Lori for this lovely post on the Buddha, he is inspiring to me as well for his wisdom and his 8 fold path. After many years of being in the wilderness witnessing the sufferings of those of who he was quite unaware until he left his palace, he had now arrived at the Bo Tree. He had undergone his pacing from North to South, East to West and so on, and Mara and her Furies were trying desperately to prevent him from reaching enlightenment. Sending down lightning bolts, storms etc …and then the King Cobra emerged from the shadows to offer the Buddha its hood for protection –

    He is inspiring in all ways ..

  3. I have seen how Buddhism has helped one of my friends cope with her depression with the living in the here and now stance as you say. I can remember teaching some very young children about Siddharthu’s story of becoming Buddha and they were fascinated and asked SO many questions and had so much to discuss 🙂
    Pempi
    A Stormy’s Sidekick
    Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

    • It really has helped me a lot.. the mindfulness of being present is probably the greatest tool for one dealing with depression. Hurray for your friend! Thank you for stopping by, Pempi! I am off to look at your blog 🙂

  4. Pingback: 04.02.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

What's on your mind? Let me know!

