The Daily Me (Journal) Judgement II – 12/30/16

Today’s prompt comes from 100 Inspirational Journal Prompts by Melissa Bolton @ The Mogul Mom

What characteristics do you judge the most harshly in yourself?

Oh goodness, where to start? I probably have more bad characteristics than good ones.

One that I judge myself harshly over is my ‘supposed’ selfish nature. I don’t mean to be a ‘me first’ person, but I know I come across as such. You see, it is not intentional. I get hyper-focused on whatever I am doing to the exclusion of everything around me (remember dear Tarot cautioned me about that just a day or so ago) and when I get that focused, I tend to forget about family and friends and other commitments I may have made. This makes me look like a selfish jerk and I get called that (and worse) quite often.

Another one that I judge harshly about myself is my forgetfulness. I really do have memory issues and if I forget to write myself notes, I will forget to do things. This usually ends up disappointing someone and they get upset with me and I, in turn, get upset with myself. Vicious, nasty cycle.

I can also come across as haughty and snobbish, even though I don’t mean to act that way. I just live in my head a lot and cherish the intellect. All else seems rather tedious and boring to me. But when people point out those characteristics to me, I berate myself and tell myself to act like the average people more often. It is exhausting.

And finally, I judge myself most critically for procrastinating. It sucks the marrow from my bones and causes me a lot of stress because I suffer from OCD and putting things off is just not productive for me. And yet, I do it to the point of driving myself mad.

6 thoughts on “The Daily Me (Journal) Judgement II – 12/30/16

What's on your mind? Let me know!

