Wednesday Hodgepodge – 04.13.16

Hodgepodgebutton

for Wednesday Hodgepodge @ From This Side of the Pond

1. What’s the last thing you did that could be described as ‘taxing’?

Every Wednesday is taxing for me. I have a friend who has requested a special poem just for her every Wednesday and it is taxing to come up with something each week. Still, I manage to come up with something each week and have for the last 10 weeks. Surprises me each time.

2.  If you cold plant a garden of anything, what would be in it?

I love vegetable gardens – tomatoes, squash, zucchini, cucumbers, bell peppers, jalapeno peppers, green onions, green beans, various types of lettuce

3.  April 10-16 is National Library Week…will you celebrate with a visit to your nearest library? When did you last make a trip to the library? What are you reading right now? What’s one title on your want-to-read list?

I just visited my local library this past weekend. Currently, I am reading AMBER WAKE: Gabriel Falling (The Razor’s Adventures Pirate Tales) by PS Bartlett and Ronovan Hester, but I haven’t had much time to devote to it the last week. On my want-to-read list, Echo Volumes 1 & 2 by Kent Wayne

4. Share a saying or an old wives tale you heard while growing up, you believed to be true or that you paid attention to ‘just in case’.

*laughs* we were told that when it thundered, God was bowling, lightning was lightbulbs blowing in Heaven, if the sun shone during rain, the Devil was beating his wife and if the sun shone during a snow storm, the wife was beating the Devil.

5. Are you a fan of onions? Garlic? Ginger? What’s a dish you love that contains one, two or all three items listed?

I love all three… my fave dish is Garlic Chicken.. it contains all three.

6. Where does nurturing end and indulging begin? What are some skills or qualities you think a person needs to posses in order to be viewed as mature?

For the first question… I have no idea. I was not nurtured as a child nor indulged and I have no children of my own to experiment on. As for the second question, controlled anger, patience, and a giving spirit are all signs of maturity to me.

7. What leading figure in any field would you like to hear speak, and why?

Thich Nhat Hahn, he is my Buddhist teacher, but I’ve never been to hear him speak, only studied with him through his writings and videos.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

If my head didn’t hurt so badly, I would be feeling randomly delicious.

12 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 04.13.16

  1. Never heard the bowling story. We used to say that thunder was God moving his furniture around. Visiting as your Hodgepodge neighbour. Hope your head is better.

  2. Your comments about storms brought bad a really fond memory to me of dad sitting with the three of us in the porch swing when it was thundering and lightning. He didn’t want us to be scared of storms because we lived where there tornadoes and we needed to be able to not panic when we had to go down to the cellar. He always said the thunder was God laughing, the lightning was God winking, and the rain was God crying because he was laughing so hard. Maybe that’s one of those things every region has their story about. LOL

    • Oh! I think I like your versions better.. so beautiful! Yeah, I think parents invent these stories to keep us calm.. I’ve heard so many different versions from around the world over the years.

  3. I’ve heard the God is bowling tale, but never the one about the Devil beating his wife. I’d remember that one for sure! I hope your headache is gone today.

    • I don’t even know where that Devil one came from. just something my mom would say.. well, unfortunately, it is still here.. probably will be until everything has bloomed 😦

  4. Pingback: 04.13.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

    • Thanks hun.. it’s allergies.. I go through this every Spring because I refuse to stay shut up in the house and I won’t take allergy pills much because all I do is sleep from them (even the non-drowsy ones!)

      • Allergies are horrible 😦 , I have them year round but thankfully don’t get head pain from them like you do. That’s strange the non drowsy ones make you drowsy! Does honey help at all?

      • I get drowsy off of a regular strength tylenol *laughs* medication affects me in strange ways.
        It helped when I could get local honey when I lived in OK, but sadly, I haven’t been able to find a local beekeeper since returning to VA.. would probably have to travel 40-60 miles to find one and I don’t have the transportation.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

