#atozchallenge – Mahatma Gandhi Inspires Me

eckler.g

gandhiI remember learning about Mahatma Gandhi when I was in 10th grade. We were doing projects on Nonviolence and he was one of the subjects that we were working on. I was fascinated by his stance against the British and his march to the coast in Dandi to make his own salt. I thought at the time, what a brave man. I still believe that. He was incredibly brave throughout the Indian Independence movement, as well as other movements that he was involved in. His stance on non-cooperation with the British and non-violence in general moved me deeply. I read books about him and watched the movie Gandhi starring Ben Kingsley.  It wouldn’t be until later in life, my mid-thirties, that I fully appreciated him and his work. I am a pacifist and if I ever came up against any type of barriers such as Gandhi did, I too would choose nonviolence. As a teenager, I don’t think I fully grasped the contributions he had made to the world and how he influenced other great men. His assassination in 1948 robbed all of us of a great leader. Here are a few of my favorite quotes by Gandhi:

 

 

Interesting Facts: His birthday, 2 October, is commemorated as Gandhi Jayanti, a national holiday, and world-wide as the International Day of Nonviolence. And, although he was nominated many times, Gandhi never won the Nobel Peace Prize. (source)


 

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]
Thank you for joining me for the A-to-Z Challenge. If you’d like to see who else is participating, check them out here.
Each day, I will be posting about People Who Inspire Me.

 

 

17 thoughts on “#atozchallenge – Mahatma Gandhi Inspires Me

  1. There’s a funny Bollywood (Indian) movie that had Gandhi references throughout. It’s called ‘Lage Raho Munna Bhai’. I had a fab time watching that one! I learned about him in my History classes too.

  2. Hey Lori! You left the most lovely comment on my blog last week and I’m only just now getting around to your beautiful blogs…wow, what a fabulous post. Gandhi inspires me too– he challenges me, because I definitely have a temper on me. Thank you for sharing his wise words, as well as your own! Blessings.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

