#atozchallenge – Eleanor Roosevelt Inspires Me

E-5

detail-adies-rooseveltWhen I was a young girl, I read a biography about Eleanor Roosevelt for a grade school paper. I was soon devouring every book I could find about her. I became completely enthralled by her strength of character and her human rights activism. I saw the world differently through her eyes. She not only fought for women’s rights, but racial rights as well. She was the first woman to hold a chair in the UN, which she helped to get the United States involved in. She was passionate about helping people and through her, I too became passionate about helping others. I drew upon her strength to forge my own. Although I do not claim to be a staunch Feminist, I do believe in women’s rights and I owe it all to Eleanor Roosevelt. Some of my favorite quotes from her are:

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’

This quote helped me a lot when I was dealing with Mental Illness and a failed marriage. Here is another quote that has helped me:

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.

The older I get, the more significant this quote becomes:

Probably the happiest period in life most frequently is in middle age, when the eager passions of youth are cooled, and the infirmities of age not yet begun; as we see that the shadows, which are at morning and evening so large, almost entirely disappear at midday.

(note: all quotes are taken from here)

Interesting Fact: Although never proven, but widely suspect, the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and reporter Lorena Hickok was said to have been much more than friendship. They wrote loving letters back and forth to one another for years.


 

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]
Thank you for joining me for the A-to-Z Challenge. If you’d like to see who else is participating, check them out here.
Each day, I will be posting about People Who Inspire Me.
17 thoughts on “#atozchallenge – Eleanor Roosevelt Inspires Me

  1. Great choice, thank you for highlighting her! Do you know any good novels (or entertaining biographies) about her life? I’m not big on dry, book-sized biographies at the moment.

  2. Pingback: 04.06.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

  3. Eleanor Roosevelt’s character and conviction really stands out in her writing. And she knew how to move people into action with her words. I’ve heard the second quote many times and it’s so true! I think we can all benefit from remembering that one. You picked a perfect person for the letter E.
    Robin from Write On Sisters

What's on your mind? Let me know!

