#atozchallenge – Dr. Wayne Dyer Inspires Me

vitamin-d

Wayne-DyerWhen I was a teenager, a friend of mine snuck me the book, Your Erroneous Zones by Dr. Wayne Dyer. I don’t think she understood what the book was about. She coveted it in her book-bag and handed it over to me during lunch one day. It had been her mother’s book who was donating it to the local Thrift Store. She snatched it, probably thinking it had some kind of sexual connotation to it and thought of me. I still don’t know if I should have been flattered or insulted, but I was thrilled with the book nonetheless.

Thus began my life-long love and respect for Dr. Wayne Dyer. I grew up reading his other works, devouring them. In the last few years, I have watched every single video that he has put out. He has been a true inspiration to me spiritually. In his Wishes Fulfilled lecture, he said:

If you want to accomplish anything you must change your way of thinking – your dharma, your destiny. Those thoughts of “I am limited. I am not entitled to prosperity. I am unable to deal with my physical ailments. I need something else. I need to have someone else do it for me.” Inside each and every one of us is this marvelous knowing, that is really and truly God, ourselves, each and every one of us.

His words resonate so well with my soul. Here is another quote from him that I have always enjoyed and has helped me along on my spiritual journey:

My beliefs are that the truth is a truth until you organize it, and then it becomes a lie. I don’t think that Jesus was teaching Christianity, Jesus was teaching kindness, love, concern, and peace. What I tell people is don’t be Christian, be Christ-like. Don’t be Buddhist, be Buddha-like. Religion is orthodoxy, rules and historical scriptures maintained by people over long periods of time. Generally people are raised to obey the customs and practices of that religion without question. These are customs and expectations from outside the person and do not fit my definition of spiritual.

When I learned that he had passed on in August 2015, I knew we had lost a great teacher and mentor. Thankfully, his words will live on through his books and videos.

Interesting fact: Dr. Dyer co-authored 5 children’s books with Kristina Tracy.


 

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]
Thank you for joining me for the A-to-Z Challenge. If you’d like to see who else is participating, check them out here.
Each day, I will be posting about People Who Inspire Me.
17 thoughts on “#atozchallenge – Dr. Wayne Dyer Inspires Me

  1. I think Dyer had good stuff to say and worth reading his books but after I read his autobiography I don’t think I like him as a person as much. I know that sounds contradictory but it’s what I think.

  2. Great theme for a blog. I’ve also been inspired by Dr. Dyer, and wrote a review of his film, The Shift, on my blog, A Movie for Every Mood. It’s posted on Dec. 15 last year if you’re interested.

  3. Pingback: 04.05.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

  4. What wonderful quotes Lori 🙂 Love them, really inspiring ❤
    Didn't know that this was your blog 🙂 I was actually searching for your A to Z Challenge posts in the other blog of yours!

    • They are beautiful quotes…
      Ah! Glad you found me here! Well, I have science fiction stories over at Promptly Written 😉
      Thank you for stopping by Srivi.. it is always a pleasure to see you!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

