Saturday 9: I Don’t Know How to Love Him (1971)

0000325626_350

Saturday 9: I Don’t Know How to Love Him (1971)

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) This song is from Jesus Christ, Superstar. Though now a beloved classic, the play was controversial when it first premiered. Can you think of something else that originally made people uncomfortable, but went on to be accepted? My parents would say Rock-n-Roll, but from my era, it was Gothic. It has become so mainstream now that I no longer even consider myself Gothic.

2) Jesus Christ, Superstar was originally developed as a “concept album,” a collection of songs written to sequentially tell the story of The Crucifixion and Resurrection. Do you remember the first album you bought? Did you download it, listen to it on a CD player, your cassette deck, or record player? *laughs* the very first album that I bought with my own money was a Neil Diamond 8-track. Hot August Night. Yes, I am that old.

3) When the album’s songs were performed live in concert at the Pennsylvania Civic Arena, producers decided to stage it as a play and the rest, as they say, is history. Tell us about a really good idea you’ve had recently. Well, I don’t know if it was such a good idea now, but back in December, I decided to dedicate myself to a year of continuous writing. So I planned out a writing project for every month this year. What I forgot to do was plan out a few days off each month. I will let you know if it was a really good idea or the worst one I’ve ever had by the end of December.

4) Jesus Christ, Superstar is a truly international phenomenon. During a revival tour that began in 2011, it’s been a hit with audiences in the United States, Canada, Britain, Ireland, Brazil, Hungary, India, New Zealand, Italy, France, Mexico, Chile, Bulgaria, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Iceland, Russia, Poland, Czech Republic, Greece, Australia, The Philippines, South Africa, Panama, Colombia, Croatia, Bolivia, The Netherlands and Portugal. Besides the United States, which of those countries have you visited? I’ve never been out of the US. For that matter, I’ve never been further west than OK, further east than NY or further south than Georgia.

5) Peeps are big sellers every Easter. Would you rather have yellow chicks or pink bunnies? Purple chicks. Yes, they do make them purple now. My favorite thing to do is cut open the package and leave them setting out for about a week until they get good and stale. Then I devour them *bigcheesygrin*

6) Jelly beans are also popular this time of year. One theory says they were introduced in Boston during the 19th century. What else comes to mind when you think of Boston? Their accent. I don’t think they are really Americans!

7) We’ve been talking a lot about sweets this morning. The only holiday that generates more candy sales is Halloween. When do you eat more candy: Easter or Halloween? Definitely during Halloween.

8) Easter lilies will adorn many churches this Sunday. What’s your favorite flower? Magnolia blossom

9) Easter is considered the season of rebirth. What makes you feel refreshed or rejuvenated? Meditation

10 thoughts on “Saturday 9: I Don’t Know How to Love Him (1971)

  1. Bit of trivia about Jesus Christ Superstar. The director was Norman Jewison. At the same time he was directing that, he was directing Fiddler On The Roof, having to fly back and for between the two sets. He was one busy man!

    • I agree with you, there is a lot to see here.. the only place outside the US I would like to visit is India, but not until it is safe for women again. Thank you for stopping by!

What's on your mind? Let me know!